top of page
Writer's pictureRhiannon Elizabeth Irons

Hot Off the Presses: I Know What You Did Last Summer Returns

Rhiannon Elizabeth Irons


With Scream VI hitting cinemas this year, it was only a matter of time before another franchise from the 1990’s returned.


Deadline and Bloody Disgusting have both reported that both Jennifer Love Hewitt and Freddie Prinze Jr are set to reprise their roles as Julie James and Ray Bronson respectively in a new sequel to I Know What You Did Last Summer.


Jennifer Kaytin Robinson (Do Revenge) has been brought on board to direct.


According to Deadline reports, “Insiders say the project is still in early development and that Neal H. Moritz is in talks to return as producer with Leah McKendrick on board to write the script.”

The site goes on to note, “While McKendrick is penning the pic, the idea for the new film came from Robinson and McKendrick, who blew studio execs away when they pitched this idea for a sequel last fall especially given the recent success of the Scream franchise.”


It sounds like this sequel will follow in the footsteps laid out by Scream and Halloween – a legacy sequel with returning characters alongside a mix of fresh faces.


The questions surrounding the inclusion of the two sequels – I Still Know What You Did Last Summer (1998) and I’ll Always Know What You Did Last Summer (2006) – remain. Will this be a direct sequel to the original film, or will it continue on from the last time we saw Julie and Ray after their ordeal on Tower Bay Island? Will the third film, that had nothing to do with the original two films, be included?


We all know I’m a huge fan of I Know What You Did Last Summer. It was the movie that turned me into a horror fan. And while I’m excited to see what Julie and Ray have been up to since their last showdown with Ben Willis, I’d be more excited to see Muse Watson return to the role that made me a fan of his.


This isn’t the first time I Know What You Did Last Summer was rebooted. In 2021, Amazon attempted to relaunch the franchise in an ill-fated TV series that was cancelled after one season. With a premise that was more Pretty Little Liars and less slasher horror movie, the series was doomed without a solid connection to the original film, or even to Lois Duncan’s original novel of the same name.


Be sure to check out my 13 Reasons Why I Know What You Did Last Summer Got Me Hooked article to celebrate the 25th anniversary of the original film.

Comments


bottom of page